Sitting there in the parking lot, waiting for the boys to arrive with their social worker, was nerve wrecking. I kept fretting over whether or not they would like me, what if there was no connection?
When they first arrived, their foster mother took them out of the car, and they clung to her, crying pitifully, not wanting her to let them go. It broke my heart. Their social worker pulled the youngest off of the foster mother, and he cried harder.
My heart sank. They are not going to like me, I kept thinking. How can we ever compete? They already call her mommy! A part of me, I can not lie, felt rage, jealousy, and sadness at the same time.
We took them into the indoor inflatable amusement park, and the foster mother disappeared. We moved to a table, and sat down—me, my hubby, our social worker, the boys, and their social worker. The youngest cried still, wanting his foster mother to come back and take him.
This went on for about 10, 15 minutes, and then little one began to stop crying, but he still wouldn’t talk to me or my hubby. The 3 year old was warming up some, as he kicked off his shoes and began to run towards the inflatables…my hubby ran after him, while I stayed at the table with the little one, trying to do what I could to win him over.
We stayed there with them for about 3 hours that day. After an hour, the little one was playing peek-a-boo with me, and my hubby and I were both chasing the boys around the place while our social workers sat back and laughed.
I must admit that both social workers were really a great help—when the little one ran to her with a dirty nose, she insisted he come to me to clean it….though, that is one thing I would not have minded her doing! LOL
So the end of our visit came, and because things seemed to go so well, our social workers agreed that the next visit, would be unsupervised. We go pick them up from the foster mom’s home, have them around the city for the day, and the return them home by nightfall.
Whereas I am pleased with the first visit, as I was stating earlier, it was heart-breaking to hear them call their foster mother “Mommy.” I don’t know why it hurt so bad…..I know it was unrealistic, but I can’t help it. I have waited so long to be called Mommy, that I didn’t expect them to call me mommy right away, but I think I was jealous that they had already bestowed that glorious title upon her.
Hopefully, one day, with patience, they will look at me with the love they had in their eyes for her. The good thing? At least I know she has not mistreated them! I know she is treating them well for them to look at her, and feel comfortable enough to call her “Mommy.”
So for now, I will have to be patient, and bide my time until the day comes that they feel safe enough with me, to look at me, and call me “Mommy.”
By the way: about the time at the inflatables? Nothing lets you know your work-out routine is obsolete, like chasing behind a 2 and 3 year old at the same time!!!!
Next time we take them to a place like that, we must have naps, vitamins, Gatorade, sweat bands, etc! LOL